Discussions on the history and historiography of Australia's New England

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

The Nineteen Counties

Nineteen counties

On this day in 1829 Governor Darling proclaimed the 19 counties of NSW, redefining the area the Europeans could settle. Hat tip to State Records NSW.

This map shows the boundaries. The squatters quickly spread beyond these limits.

The counties themselves vanished from memory, but their imprint remains.     

No comments: